top of page
  • megancstitt

How to Win Gift Cards on Polyvore

*** Update: Polyvore was sold to SSENSE and they disabled the website. 🙁 

For those of you who enjoy creativity and fast fashion…

I’ve been on Polyvore for about as long as I can remember. My original account, dates back 9 years, while my current one dates back 6, with semi-consistent use. If I’m being honest, I think Polyvore may be one of the reasons I got into fashion in the first place, which is something I haven’t noticed until now. My knowledge of brands and love for cool, unique shoes definitely hails from their site.

If you don’t know what Polyvore is, it’s basically a place where you can create and publish collages of items from around the internet. I believe it’s original use was for fashion, but it has evolved into beauty and home decor as well. Here is a statement from their about page: “Polyvore disrupts the traditional e-commerce model by giving everyone everywhere a voice in shaping today’s trends and influencing purchases. Our global community of stylists share tips on how to mix and match looks to make the most of your closet and predict trends before they hit the mainstream.” So it’s pretty cool, right?

Polyvore runs their own official contests, which occasionally have prizes of various shapes and sizes with thousands of entries to each. All you have to do is create a “set” and use the items specified. However, if you want a bit less competition and a quick fashion fix, I highly recommend joining one of the various groups on Polyvore devoted to giving out gift cards to Romwe or Shein.

I know you’re probably thinking, “Megan, you just did a post on buying with purpose and now you’re telling me how to win a gift card to these two companies who are the epitome of fast fashion?” Well, yeah. Sustainable fashion is great, but we don’t all have the means to buy it, especially as young people in college or just starting out in the world. I’m working on finding some more affordable and sustainable brands, but for now I’m prodding you with an invitation to be creative and get something material out if it.

So here’e what you do.

  1. Create an account.

  2. Join one of these various groups. There are a ton of them out there besides these, just search “romwe” or “shein” in the groups search to find more.

  3. Find their on-going group contest.

  4. Create a set that follows the rules and enter!

There is no rhyme or reason to why someone wins, as long as you follow the rules the group leader gets to pick which set they like best! I’ve won two over the past like two years, but I haven’t been consistently entering and have honestly been shocked at getting the message (by the way, make sure you check your Polyvore messages). And yes, this is totally legit. I used my gift cards on these websites to get actual clothes from Romwe and Shein. I used my last one to get 3 pieces for my BTS Music Video Outfits post.

Polyvore is a really amazing community full of creative, inspiring people and content. I highly recommend checking it out and creating whatever fun fashion your heart desires!

Here are a few of the sets I’ve created. A few favorites and the one of the winners!


Two years ago back when they used to give the winner the product you had to use. I still wear this striped tee!


Bonus Personal Reflection: I’m working on finding my voice. I’ve always shopped fast fashion because it’s almost always cheaper and right on trend. But I also got educated in it’s downsides (and there are a lot) so I’m trying to find a space between the me who is trying to change her wardrobe constantly because fashion and the me who wants to protect our planet. Thoughts/tips? Let me know!

4 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page