top of page
  • megancstitt

Shopping at Bershka, Zara’s “Sister Store”

Surely if you follow fashion you’ve seen the arrival of Bershka on American shores. I’ve seen so many articles hailing it “Zara’s Sister Store” as it was created by the same Spanish parent company, Inditex. They launched their US website and opened a pop-up shop in the Soho shopping district of Manhattan. Articles claimed lower prices and sizes skewing smaller- I set out to check it out!


Overall, the store atmosphere was pretty different than Zara. Everything felt a bit more organized and scaled back (though this could be because it was opening week). Instead of being overwhelmed with product options, the space was smaller and seemingly sorted by color trend.


The styles were similar to Zara, with less items that could be called “out there”. I found the price range to be about the same in store, but online they definitely have a cheaper offering. A few skirts, jeans, or tees were a bit cheaper in store with coats and shoes staying about the same. However like Zara’s prices, Bershka’s were all across the board as well. That’s not to say that there weren’t a few great deals though, I got a skirt for $25.90 and a men’s tee for $7.90.


I had a mini haul, a tee, a blouse, and a skirt (along with some birthday gifts for friends). For sizes, I definitely had to size up in the skirt. In tops I always fluctuate between a small/medium, but I definitely needed a medium at Bershka.

Online you can find sweatshirts for $15, jeans and dresses for $19.90, and jackets for $22.90. While these are great deals for people on low budgets, one of the things I’ve been thinking about lately is just how sustainable and ethical these low prices are. If we are only paying that much for these items, what are the people who are making them getting paid? Honestly I’ve been buying mostly secondhand clothing lately as that gives clothes a new life and reduces waste just a tiny bit. Sustainability of the apparel industry is something I’d definitely like to talk about more, as well as find ways to make it more affordable. Just something that I’m starting to think about more and definitely something you should consider as you do your shopping!

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page