top of page
  • megancstitt

Shopping with Purpose

About The Flourish Market….

Since being back in Raleigh, I’ve had the cool opportunity to be a part of Triangle Area Bloggers (aka TriFABB) headed up by Molly Stillman of Still Being Molly. TriFABB is basically a group connecting local bloggers for collaboration and other opportunities! It’s super cool. I attended their holiday party at The Flourish Market a few weeks ago and let me tell you, I was absolutely in awe of this boutique.

Their concept is is for your purchase to spread dignity. They partner with “40 brands that work all over the world, providing dignified jobs and fair wages to inspiring artisans and makers in vulnerable communities.” To me, this is an incredible business model as it is striving to not only be profitable (as all businesses do) but make a positive impact and change on the planet and the community around it.

Here are just a few of the many awesome brands they carry:

Purpose Jewelry – handcrafted by women who have been rescued from human trafficking

ABLE – ending generational poverty by employing women in extraordinary circumstances

Anchor Beads – 10% of proceeds donated to childhood cancer research in memory of the founder’s daughter

Thirty One Bits – created by artisans across the world, giving fair pay and safe working conditions

Mata Traders – helping end global poverty in India and Nepal

Elegantees – sponsoring safe houses and hiring women in need

One thing I’d like to do better this year is shop with purpose. Obviously, I’m always going to buy clothes, but I’d like to do better job of buying from brands that have proven they treat/pay their workers well, benefit the environment around them, and give back to the community in someway. I’ve bought a lot of second-hand clothing this past year, both online via Poshmark and through local consignment or thrift stores (I frequented the Buffalo Exchange in NYC). If you guys have any recommendations let me know! I’m trying to improve the impact that I’m making on the planet and people around me- I think that is something we can all strive for.

P.S. You can use this coupon to get 15% off your first purchase!

2 views0 comments

Yorumlar


bottom of page