top of page
  • megancstitt

4 Boss Young Women to Follow on Social Media

I am constantly online. Though I have been attempting to reduce my social usage when with people as well as in my downtime, I work in social media which requires me to be up-to-date on what’s going on in the world. Thus, I am online a lot. And if I’m going to be online so often, as I’m assuming you are too, there are a lot of really awesome people we can put our follows and engagement into.

Because I myself am a young woman, I get really excited about seeing other successful young women killing it in their various industries. While sometimes following people on Instagram can get me down, following along with these women on social media is super inspiring and encourages me to push myself to work harder. They do some of the coolest stuff and work so hard (both on their feed and in their career). I’m sure there are a ton of other boss women out there that inspire you with their social presence. If you have some favorites, let me know- I’d love to follow them too!

Here are some quick summaries based on what I’ve learned from their social media presences! (High-key trying not to be a stalker, ya feel?) You should definitely give them a follow and get motivated to create

Shelby Ivey Christie – @bronze_bombshel on Instagram


This girl teaches me so much about the fashion industry. Shelby is a media manager at L’Oreal in New York and you absolutely have to keep up with her stories. Don’t worry though if you miss them, she puts them in her highlights! Some of her stories are simply social media updates from her Twitter, however, she also provides in-depth discussions and information sessions on things going on in the fashion industry. Specifically, she talks a lot about race and how the fashion industry, mainly designer streetwear, comes from black hip-hop culture. As someone who studied the fashion industry in school, I am always ready to learn more about the industry and its flaws (and trust me, it has many). Shelby really shines a light on some of the darker aspects, as well as showing the bright future through hard workers like herself.

Jane Manchun Wong – @wongmjane on twitter

Okay so I’m pretty sure Jane is still in college but low-key (high-key!!!) she has discovered so many of your favorite social apps’ newest updates before the news comes out about them. This tech talk is over my head, so I don’t know the specifics of how she does it, but it involves digging through the code to find these little easter eggs. Jane has discovered so much about Instagram that I’m pretty sure they invited her to their HQ, which is absolutely crazy (see picture of her in front of the Instagram icon at Instagram HQ!) In addition, the CEO of Twitter even acknowledged an article about one of her finds.

Kristie Dash – @kristiedash on Instagram

Honestly, I’ve lost track of how many jaw-dropping things Kristie Dash has done. She’s worked so many fashion dream jobs and on top of that she seems super down to earth. She interned at Harper’s Bazaar, Teen Vogue, Vogue, and then was the assistant to the EIC of Lucky Magazine, while still in college. She now works in Beauty and Lifestyle partnerships for Instagram. Not only am I a fan of her hair color (obviously), but her comfy-chic style is always on point. Follow along for an inside look at the Instagram Fashion team (they do group workouts!) but more than that, follow along for Dash’s fun personality and go-getter attitude. She’s always accomplishing something amazing and if you’re interested in her career journey HerCampus did a really great article on her path here.

Lindsay Arakawa – @blindsaay on Instagram

I followed Lindsay after loving one of her amazing prints and some of her creative letter work posted on Refinery29’s Instagram. Come to find out, she’s actually the Instagram Manager for Refinery29! First of all, that’s one of the coolest jobs I’ve ever heard of but second, Lindsay’s Instagram is always inspiring. From her perfect film shots, artful selfies, simple collages, travel adventures, and again, her prints, she’s definitely one to look to whenever you need inspiration. She’s a champion for women’s rights, her Asian American heritage, and the recognition of other amazing creatives out there. You can read so much more about her in this awesome interview on Milk in collaboration with Banana Magazine in celebration of Asian Pacific American Heritage Month.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page