top of page
  • megancstitt

My Top 5 Podcasts

I’ve morphed into the culture of the city. I listen to PODCASTS. This is something I never did before moving to New York; I never had time to set aside time without work to concentrate on what I was hearing. Now I ride the subway every day and walk to and from the station, equating to about an hour and a half of time by myself. When I read a book, I’m listening to music, but when I when I want to feel like I have someone to talk to while I play games on my phone, I listen to podcasts. They’ve become a real staple in my life. I actually listen to them more often than I listen to music, which is kind of a new and strange revelation. They’re great. So here are a few of my favorites that I want to share with you; if you listen to any of them, please chat with me about them!

Reply All (full credit to Jane for the recommendation)

This podcast is about the internet, technology, and all the weird situations it can get you into. They hunt down hackers who took advantage of someone in their office, try to dispel conspiracy theories found on the web, interview people who are creating new and noteworthy apps, and probably the most endearing, they explain popular tweets to their not-so-tech-savvy boss. You may be thinking, Megan, I’m not as obsessed with the internet as you are, but trust me, with this podcast there is something for everyone. No matter which corner of the web you hail from, one of their many episode topics will relate and pull you in.

  1. Episode 102 & 103: Long Distance

  2. Episode 99: Black Hole, New Jersey

  3. Episode 56: Zardulu

  4. Episode 7:  This Website is for

  5. Episode 12: Back End Trouble

An inspiring podcast about how successful companies were started, from the ground up. There’s not much more to explain, but there are companies from every industry. I started with apparel and ended up listening to everything else as well. There’s something so motivational about hearing people come from nothing to build something great.

  1. Toms: Blake Mycoskie

  2. Kendra Scott: Kendra Scott

  3. Edible Arrangements: Tariq Farid

  4. Rent the Runway: Jenn Hyman

  5. Warby Parker: Dave Gilboa & Neil Blumenthal

My Brother, My Brother, and Me (Jane credits again!!).

Oh, I don’t even know which episodes to recommend to you for this podcast. First of all, this podcast has been going on for seven(!) years and having just discovered it a few months ago I haven’t even made it through half of them. This was the first podcast I took interest in while in New York because I was having a bit of trouble and this is by far the goofiest and most light hearted podcast I’ve ever heard. It’s pure. Three brothers offering advice to listeners and Yahoo! Answers. Sounds silly, but ever-so entertaining and enlightening. I even got to see them live when they toured here!

Missing Richard Simmons (shout out to Sabrina because I listened to all the episodes in a row)

This is exactly what it sounds like. Famous fitness icon, Richard Simmons, just disappeared a few years ago. What happened to him? A friend of his conducts interviews, visits relatives, and digs deeper. There are only six episodes and they will pull you along for the ride.

This podcast is put out by the makers of the college fashion media site (hard to believe, right?) CollegeFashionista. They interview a variety of professionals within the fashion industry, editors, models, YouTubers, bloggers, designers, and more. As someone who has always wanted to work in the industry, the podcast is both interesting and inspiring. It sheds light on a world that is so often kept quiet. My favorites are the episodes with Kristie Dash and Danielle Bernstein.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page