top of page
  • megancstitt

Nova Check Yourself (Burberry Tartan is Back)

After years of laying low, Burberry tartan has finally resurfaced into the trends. The “Nova Check” was first introduced in the 1920s, but has risen and fallen in popularity, the last phase being in the late 90s early 2000s. For a full history, that I’ve just discovered is somewhat controversial (!) there’s a cool article by Highsnobriety worth a read.

But I’m not here to talk about history, I’m here to talk about trends. Nova check is everywhere. It’s on tees, hats, scarves, skirts, where is it not for crying out loud! Highsnobriety brings up a good point when they say “fashion houses are going back to their roots” and it’s absolutely trending. Gucci blasting the scene with their stripes and double g’s, Louis Vuitton logo print coming back around, fashion houses are killing it by refreshing their key components.

I honestly first noticed this trend in (you guessed it) kpop. A roster of new songs and music videos have been released and I just kept seeing Burberry. Nova check graced almost every new link I clicked on.

Pentagon was the first on my radar- their music video “Shine” was dotted with Burberry and many of their promoting events and performances have included the tartan print as well.

Next up, Mad Clown and San E’s “Butterfly” which included the trend in mass force. There was a whole room committed to Nova Check. These guys actually came to NC for a show and it was one of the best I’ve been to! The song is pretty catchy too.

Then there were also some head-to-toe Burberry outfits such as Winner’s Minho in “EVERYDAY” and EXID’s LE in “LADY“. Honestly? Goals.

I’m really digging the Burberry, okay. Yeri from the girl group, GFRIEND, wore a cute Burberry ball cap during one of their recent performances and bonus, SinB in a cute Burberry tee (thanks Amy for this find!!).

Monsta X’s (my favorite) promotional images for their album The Connect featured one of their members, I.M., in Burberry as well. He’s been seen in various Burberry oversized button-ups, not all Nova Check, since the debut of the album. Their single was called “Jealousy“.

All this to say: Burberry is back. I am interested to see if this trend will be just as potent in the US, but as for street style, it’s already infiltrated Instagram. I’m definitely a fan. It’s a little weird, but pairing something preppy with casual style has always been up my alley. Let me know what you think about Nova Check!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page