top of page
  • megancstitt

Reflection

I always have the best time shooting with Sydney. One of the many reasons is because she’s always ready to try something new and add something to it. I came to her with the idea of a blue toned shoot involving mirrors. Neither of us had ever shot playing with mirrors and we spent a few minutes laughing as we tried to look at each other through it, through the lens, and back. We learned that we may need bigger mirrors next time, but I absolutely love the shots we came out with. Below, you can see the inspiration, which I also shared on a Pinterest board!

As I am getting more into styling and learning more from Melissa, I’ve learned that sometimes it’s hard to style yourself for photos. I constantly wanted to stand outside of myself and check for little details that were out of place (though the mirrors did help!). However- I really loved these outfits, the pops of blue and the mirrors mixed perfectly, and with Sydney behind the camera, the vibe really turned out perfect. It feels a bit of the clichéd “wanderlust” looking at them.

I didn’t want the clothing choices to be too etherial and romantic, so instead I mixed some structure with softer shapes. The straight jeans, window-paned blazer, and white leather skirt provided a perfect contrast to the easier, flowing pieces that completed the looks. As a styling note, I really wish that leather was easy to steam because boy did I try to get that skirt unwrinkled.

I also love the pop of an intricate earring with these looks, adding a bit of elevation to the outfit. I’m still learning a lot about styling and am so glad that it helps me keep up with fashion and my own creativity! Thank you to Sydney for always being willing to try something new with me, you always complete my vision with your amazing skills in photography!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page