top of page
  • megancstitt

Shoe Trends 2018

Or how you should be dressing your toes this year.

I’ve always loved shoes and since my feet haven’t grown since middle school, I’ve done a great job of hoarding them. But as each new year and fashion season rolls around trends change and that is no different in the shoe department. I’ve dug through articles, compared lists, scrolled Instagram, and viewed maybe too many street style photos to bring the best 2018 shoe trends to you!

Mules were a huge hit in 2017 and they’re definitely sticking around this year. I didn’t give them a specific feature, because this is not a breakthrough, just a continuation of a classic. They’re perfect for casual days or going into the office, hand in hand with the Gucci slippers trend which is also definiely sticking around. I’ve been seeing a handful more Puma and New Balance sneakers as compared to Nike and Adidas as far as the eye can see. There’s a huge variety in sneakers right now and I’m excited to see where it goes. That being said, there’s also often a difference in trends of where I live (NC) and the fashion industry that I follow. Most trends trickle down eventually, but I tried to factor in a bit of both environments. Here are some of the top shoe trends for 2018!

OBNOXIOUS SNEAKERS





This is definitely my favorite trend though I’m also a bit confused about how to wear it. The trend is originating from the Balenciaga Triple S (a few in the image above). The sneaker had popularity on the streets in Paris, Seoul, and Shanghai fashion weeks. Vogue Paris called the trend “Galactic Sneakers and Glamour called it “Bulky Sneakers“, I’m calling it “Obnoxious Sneakers” because they are but they’re also so cool. Bigger sneakers have also been put out by other brands, from New Balance to Nike. My cousin, who is a teenage sneaker head, even got a pair of chunky off-yellow New Balance sneakers for Christmas.

Down the runway these shoes are often seen with slacks, but on the streets they’re paired with sweatpants, skinny jeans, and just about everything in between. At first I was thinking, why would I pay money for these shoes that look already worn? Then I realized, distressed jeans or sweaters are about the same concept. I already own a pair of semi-bulky Adidas sport shoes, but obnoxious ugly sneakers are definitely next on my list.

VANS EVERYWHERE





All my friends are wearing Vans again. They’ve never truly gone out of style, but as with all classic sneakers their popularity has ebbed and flowed. I’m happy to say Vans are back in popularity this year; CollegeFashionista even did an article on how to wear them to class in 2018.  Though Vans has always created a variety of sneakers, bright colors were particularly popular in the emo-style phase I’m remembering, neutrals and pastels are covering the most ground right now. I’ve even seen a handful of middle-aged moms donning vans at the local shopping centers. They’re easy, stylish, and comfortable. What more could you need?

In 2016 GQ called them “The Next Stan Smith(Adidas, for those of you who need reminding). Fashionista did an article on their Newfound Chicness“. Vans also had a huge slate of too cool collaborations in 2017 including Karl Lagerfeld, Fear of God, and Opening Ceremony, among many others. I’m sure that Vans will have many successful collaborations in 2018 as well, but for now here are some of the classics/pastels I’ve seen trending!

DENIM HEELS





Denim has been a popular textile this year, popping up everywhere on bags, jewelry, and of course shoes. There are a variety of denim shoe styles, but the heel is one of the most diverse and playful. Just look at that middle one by King Christian Louboutin would you? Many of the major fashion designers have a denim shoe for sale, Jimmy Choo, Manolo Blahnik, and Gianvito Rossi, to name a few.

Footwear News cited “Dark Denim as one of it’s shoe trends for 2018, but I wouldn’t count light denim out. There are so many variations of this texture on a heel, whether it be a bit distressed, frayed, embroidered, or etched. Denim is definitely bringing a new level of detail to both classic and interesting silhouettes.

LUCITE HEELS





Lucite heels were cited by Cosmopolitan, but the plastic trend in general was mentioned by Vogue. Whether you are taking it to the extreme like the clear, knee-high Yeezy boots, or sticking to a subtle heel, see-through shoes are hitting the streets. The lucite heel is a version of the plastic trend that can be conquered by everyone. They create a statement, without making everyone stare (and without seeing your steamy sweat in your shoes).

You’ll find lucite heels at all the major retailers and mall brands. Plus, they come in all shapes and sizes with options ranging from strappy sandals and pretty heels to boots of all heights. My personal favorite is the ankle boot in nude or black!

STUDDED BOOTS





Several articles (Vogue Paris, Cosmopolitan, Popsugar) stated trends for punk styles like combat boots and studded shoes. I think the best of each version is to combine the two. The Chloé Suzanna Studded Buckle Boot in particular has made a huge splash in street style as I’ve seen it both on my favorite influencers but also knock-offs on my friends. If you don’t want patterned studs however, there are plenty of other options including studs across the straps, heels, or other simple parts of the boot.

Honestly, a studded boot is a closet essential. I’ve had my studded combat boots for several years now and I still wear them. Call me out if they ever go out of style, but I don’t think it will be anytime soon.

STYLISH SNOW SHOES





I was first alerted to this trend on Instagram, when all the stylish New Yorkers that I follow (bloggers and friends alike) started posting pictures in the cold wearing cute snow boots. Admittedly some of these were a bit unconventional, as there were a handful of heels in the mix, but everyone looked freaking fabulous. In particular, Danielle Bernstein (@weworewhat) posted a picture in some Sigerson Morrison boots that sold out a short time afterward. Here’s a link to buy them in brown, but there are only a few left!

Chiara Ferragni‘s (originally of the blog The Blond Salad, but she does so much more now) shoe collection includes several pairs of snow boots, including the silver glitter masterpieces featured above. In addition the Moonboot brand, which was popular in the 70s, has also been more popular recently with it’s bold and big snow boot designs. As we seem to be in for a cold, snowy winter (hello, snow bomb cyclone), I suggest investing in a pair of comfortable, water-proof, warm, and stylish snow boots!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page