top of page
  • megancstitt

Why My Instagram is Never Perfect

And why my Instagram will never be perfect. 

I’ve been active on Instagram for just about as long as I can remember. Three summers ago I participated in the #100HappyDays challenge and I don’t think I’ve stopped posting since. This past summer has been almost daily as well, as it was full of creative inspiration and fun memories.

Scrolling through Instagram, you’ll see a lot of pages that are perfectly “aesthetic” i.e. when all your pictures match on your page to create a grid that is pleasing to the eye. Often times the colors match as it’s always a marble table top, always a girl by a bikini in the ocean, or always a model with outrageous style on the street. These pages are so appealing to look at, and though I often try to match my hues, my page will never be like this.

I am a big believer in honesty, even across social media when branding requires you to make life seem picture perfect. I post the things that make me happy, even when they are not necessarily “aesthetic”. I get excited about a lot, and I love being able to share those things with others and keep them as a timeline to look back upon. When I am sad, or sans happy, whatever emotions those are, I don’t post as much (which is something you may have noticed lately as I am trying to figure out this thing called life).

Doing the #100HappyDays challenge on Instagram all those years ago and even posting about the things that make me happy now challenge me to bring that brightness into my day, to celebrate it, and to live in the happy moments. Yes, I like posting modeling pictures when I am proud of my work. Yes, I like posting about brands I believe in. Yes, I like to promote my blog because this is something I work hard on! But I also like posting about the every day things that aren’t always picture perfect. I’m so happy to spend time with my friends, to eat good food, to see pretty views, and to just enjoy life.

Instagram is like a little window to my life. My life isn’t always “aesthetic af” so my Instagram isn’t either.


instagram, friends, brooklyn bridge, nyc
2 views0 comments

Komentarji


bottom of page